Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What Should I Do on This Page?
When researching a topic that may be new or unfamiliar, one of the best things you can do is gather some background so you can develop a solid overview about your topic.
The library has a few databases that are especially useful for this part of the research process. When you use these database, limit the keywords you use to search to 2-3 words (e.g. homelessness or transgender women violence).
After you watch each of the database videos below, practice applying what you learned from those videos in the individual databases.
Remember, if you have any questions, you can:
- Email me directly at: email@example.com (I'll email you back within 24 hours Mon - Fri).
- Use the 24/7 Chat with a Librarian global service (staffed by an international team of librarians).
- Call the Research Help Desk (916-484-8458) and leave a message. A librarian will call you back within 24 hours (Mon - Fri).
Finding a Good Research Question
How to Use the Preliminary Research Databases - Videos
Databases for Preliminary & Contextual Research
The databases on this page are great resources to start with to do some preliminary and contextual research on your topic.
TIP: The most effective way to use these particular databases is to begin with 1-3 keywords.
TOPIC: Female and male athletes should receive equal pay for the sports they play
Good: equal pay sports
Not so good: female male athletes play sports equal pay
NOTE: Here are a few things to keep in mind when using Literary Reference Center Plus:
- Use simple searches
- Your results may include a Work Analysis or Literary Criticism:
- A Work Analysis is, generally, a brief critical overview of a work.
- A Literature Criticism is a work that originated from a scholarly source, is written by published literary experts and will provide more in-depth, academic discussion of the work.
Background information from general and subject encyclopedias.
Scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, education and other fields.
Literary Reference Center Plus