Getting Started - HCD 310 - Professors McClellan-Morehouse & Reynolds (Fall 2022) - ARC Research Guides at American River College

Why Use the Databases on This Page?

Why Use the Databases on This Page?

The databases on this page are great for providing you with background information that will help you get familiar with a topic.
- NOTE: The Opposing Viewpoints database is great if you're searching for opposing arguments on a topic. But, sometimes, in an effort to provide an opposing viewpoint, those arguments may be extreme and highly biased, so think critically when using these resources.

How to Use the Databases on This Page?

Start by watching each of the database videos below, and then practice applying what you learned as you explore each of the databases.
Use 1-3 keywords that are related to your topic to see what kind of background information you can discover.

The following databases are great resources to start with to gather some background information on your topic.

TIP: The most effective way to use these particular databases is to begin with 1-3 keywords.

TOPIC: Happiness is based on one's quality of life and living a life that is meaningful.

Good: happiness

Good: happ*quality of life

Not so good: happiness quality of life living meaningful

TIP: The asterisk * will bring back multiple results (e.g. happ* = happy AND happiness)

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Background information from general and subject encyclopedias.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint articles on current social issues and controversial topics.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on current social and political issues.