Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARC Logo

Library Research Guides

IS 312 - Professor Collihan (Spring 2021): Getting Started

Why Use the Databases on This Page?

Why Use the Databases on This Page?

  • The databases on this page are great for providing you with the information you need to write your overview.

How to Use the Databases on This Page?

  • Start by watching each of the database videos below, and then practice applying what you learned as you explore each of the databases.
  • Use 1-3 keywords that are related to your topic to see what kind of background information you can discover.

Have a Question?

If you have any questions about how to uses the resources on this page, you can email me at harrism@arc.losrios.edu, access the 24/7 Chat Service, or contact any one of the other ARC librarians.

How to Use the Preliminary Research Databases - Videos

Databases for Background Research

The following databases are great resources to start with to gather some background information on your topic.  

TIP: The most effective way to use these particular databases is to begin with 1-3 keywords.  

TOPIC: Climate change is impacting migration decisions for many islanders including those living in the Maldives.

Good: "climate change"

Better: "climate change" maldives OR maldives migration

Not so good: climate change impact migration decisions maldives

TIPS:

1) Use quotation marks around a phrase when the order of the words matter (e.g. "Kobe Bryant").

2) The asterisk * will bring back multiple results (e.g. migra* = migrant, migration, migrating...)

Center for Disease Control (CDC)