Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Use the Databases on This Page?
Why Use the Gale eBooks Database?
- Gale eBooks are a great place to start your research because most of the content found here are encyclopedias or Reference Resources. Encyclopedias provide an overview of a topic and are really helpful for introducing you to a topic that may be new to you. They are also a great resource for discovering relevant keywords to use in your searches.
How to Use the Gale eBooks Database?
- Start by watching the video below, and then practice applying what you learned as you explore each of the database.
- Use 1-3 keywords that are related to your topic to see what kind of background information you can discover.
Remember, if you have any questions about how to use this database, you can email me at firstname.lastname@example.org, or contact any one of the ARC librarians.
How to Use the Preliminary Research Databases - Videos
Databases for Background Research
The following databases are great resources to start with to gather some background information on your topic.
TIP: The most effective way to use these particular databases is to begin with 1-3 keywords.
TOPIC: In what ways does identity shape our lives?
Good: personal identify
Good: self identity
Not so good: ways identity shapes lives
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Background information from general and subject encyclopedias.