Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARC Logo

Library Research Guides

ESL 325 - Professor Roberts-Eccles (Fall 2022): EBSCO: Articles & Newspapers

What Is a Database & Why Should I Use EBSCO Search?

What is a database?

A library database is an online searchable collection of information. Libraries buy subscriptions to databases so students can find useful and interesting information. 

Library databases contain information like: 

  • newspaper articles
  • magazine articles
  • scholarly peer-reviewed articles

Why Should I Use EBSCO Search?

EBSCO is a research tool that is searches several databases simultaneously, so you can find the newspapers, peer-reviewed articles, and magazine in one simple search!

How Do I Use It?

View the 4 steps outlined below in "How to Use EBSCO Search". 

Here's the Fun Part

Practice what you've learned by click on the EBSCO Search button and inputting the 1-3 keywords you used in the other databases into the EBSCO search field. 

You can also add more relevant keywords to refine your topic (see the examples in the EBSCO Search Tips box). 

Ebsco Search

NOTE: EBSCO Search does not include the Library's physical items like OneSearch, or any other non-EBSCO databases.  In addition, full text searching is not included.

EBSCO Search Tips

Search Tips:

  • 3-5 keywords often works well
  • Take advantage of the limiters inside of EBSCO Search
  • Try different keywords (consider synonyms)

Using Parentheses: Use these around keywords separated by the word "OR" to expand your search and get more results

Example: automation (employment OR jobs)

In the example above, we are running two searches at once: 

automation and employment and automation and jobs

Using the Asterisk (*): Use this to shorten a word and search for all possible endings of a root word. This will give you more results

Example: automation employ*

This is searching for the keyword automation and the keywords: employment, employees, employer, etc. 

NOTE: The asterisk * will bring back multiple results (e.g. employ* = employ AND employment AND employer...)

How to Use EBSCO Search

Step 1. Type in Relevant Keywords

automation employment typed into search field


Step 2 Limit Search to Full Text & select your Source Type

 

Title of EBSCO Search article highlighted


EBSCO Search article with abstract and PDF full text link highlighted