Getting Started - ENGWR 300 - Professor Bronstein (Summer 2024) - ARC Research Guides at American River College

Why Use the Databases on This Page?

Why Use the Databases on This Page?

The databases on this page are great for providing you with background information that will help you get familiar with a topic.
- NOTE: The Opposing Viewpoints database is great if you're searching for opposing arguments on a topic. But, sometimes, in an effort to provide an opposing viewpoint, those arguments may be extreme and highly biased, so think critically when using these resources.

How to Use the Databases on This Page?

Start by watching each of the database videos below, and then practice applying what you learned as you explore each of the databases.
Use 1-3 keywords that are related to your topic to see what kind of background information you can discover.

These databases are great resources to start with to gather some background information on your topic.

EXAMPLE TOPIC: The people of Flint who were exposed to toxic water during the water crisis did not receive justice.

Example Searches

Good: flint water

Good: flint water crisis

Not so good: people water crisis flint justice

Gale eBooks
Background information from general and subject encyclopedias.
Opposing Viewpoints

Viewpoint articles on current social issues and controversial topics.
CQ Researcher

In-depth reports on current social and political issues.
Ethnic NewsWatch

Newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals published by and about various racial and ethnic groups in the United States.