Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To log in from off-campus, you will need your eServices username (w+student ID) and password.
The type of article you will want to use will depend on the nature of your research. Articles can be found in academic journals, trade publications, newspapers, magazines, and more. The library subscribes to dozens of article databases, both general and subject-based, which students can access for free using their LRCCD login. If you are looking for resources in a specific field, going to a subject database will produce more relevant results. If the full-text of an article that you need is not available, you can request it for free through interlibrary loan.
Los Rios Databases
Complete list of all databases subscribed to by the Los Rios Libraries.
In primary or original research articles articles, the author(s) present a new set of findings from original research after conducting an experiment or study.
The following databases are great resources for finding research articles:
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly journals, professional journals, reports and magazines in the social sciences, the humanities, and general sciences.
Scholarly journals in psychology and behavioral sciences published by the American Psychological Association and affiliates.
Scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, education and other fields.
Scholarly journals in the health sciences, social sciences, humanities, engineering, and life sciences.
Scholarly journals in health, medicine, psychology and life sciences.
Wiley Online Library
Scholarly journals in the social sciences, life sciences, computer science, business, communication, and other fields.
Newspapers are a very important primary source for original information and opinions on contemporary issues.
The library subscribes to the following newspaper databases containing both historical and recent articles:
Access World News
Articles from US and international newspapers.
Newspaper Source Plus
Regional, national and international newspapers, television and radio news transcripts.
News reports from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire from the last 30 days.
Regional Business News
U.S. business journals and news.
Sacramento Bee Collection
Newspaper articles, blog posts, and web-only content from the Sacramento Bee, 1984 to the present.
US Major Dailies
Articles from The New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune.
Includes over 14,000 feeds covering a range of business and general news topics. Click the title to go directly to the online source.
Magazines provide a variety of content centered around a specific theme.
To see the resources that the library has to offer, search using the following collection of EBSCO databases and filter by "magazine" under Source Types.
Scholarly journals, magazines, and ebooks from a variety of EBSCOhost databases.