Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What Should I Do on This Page?
Watch each of the database videos below, and that practice applying what you learned as you explore each of the databases. Use 1-3 keywords that are related to your topic to see what kind of background information you can discover.
How to Use the Preliminary Research Databases - Videos
Databases for Preliminary & Contextual Research
The following databases are great resources to start with to gather some background information on your topic.
TIP: The most effective way to use these particular databases is to begin with 1-3 keywords. So here are some examples I pulled from the Topic Choices worksheet Professor Blunk provided for your Argumentative Essay:
TOPICS: Barbie dolls should/should not be allowed to be marketed to children.
Good: barbie doll market*
Not so good: barbie dolls allow marketing child*
TOPICS: Fashion designers and clothing distributors should/should not be required to meet and maintain standardized sizing in order to avoid vanity sizing.
Good: vanity sizing
Not so good: fashion designers clothing distributors standardized sizing
TIP: The asterisk * will bring back multiple results (e.g. child* = child AND children)
This database is a great place to start to gather background information on your topic from general and subject encyclopedias.
To learn more about how to make the most of this database, watch the video on the left.
Provides viewpoint articles on current social issues and controversial topics. Use the Viewpoints feature to read pro/con arguments about a topic.
To learn more about how to use the Opposing Viewpoints database, watch the video on the left.
CQ Researcher provides in-depth reports on current social and political issues. You may find its "overview" and "pro/con" features especially helpful for this assignment.
To learn more about how to use CQ Researcher, watch the video on the left.