Skip to main content
ARC Logo

Library Research Guides

NUTRI 310 - Professor Beccarelli (Spring 2020): Using Library Databases

Where Do I Start?

Choose Your Topic. You are to research a cultural group of your choice and develop a presentation for the class regarding some (or all) of the food habits and practices of the cultural group.  The focus may be foods of a particular festival or event or may be food habits in general.  Other things to include:

  • perspective on health and wellness
  • religion beliefs
  • manner of dress
  • special food items
  • commonly consumed foods v. celebratory foods
  • history of the group
  • geographic limitations or influences

 

Okay, I've Got My Topic, Now What?

Brainstorm Keywords about Your Topic. A keyword search is a great start to finding books and articles using our library catalog and online research databases. Brainstorm on a piece of paper any keywords you can think of about your topic. Look for other keywords in your search results as you research. Look for the subject categories of various books and articles to give you ideas for additional keyword searches.

Basic Topic Example: The culture and food of [your country here]

Brainstormed keywords:

  • cultural history and cuisine
  • food habits
  • food traditions
  • food anthropology
  • heritage food
  • religious ceremony
  • food history
  • celebrations or festivals
  • eating habits
  • food security
  • coffee production
  • food society

Where Do I Find Books and Articles?

Search Library Databases for Books and Articles.

Using a library research database is different from using Google and searching the World Wide Web. Library research databases contain reliable articles like those you would find in print magazines, journals, and newspapers. You can even access these databases from off-campus with an Internet connection (go to ARC Library website).

Click http://www.library.losrios.edu/resources/databases/ to see a list of all library databases.

Suggested keyword searches below for the topic, the culture and food of [your country here]:

  • (Spain or Spanish) food culture
  • Thailand food traditions
  • food habits Japan*
  • festivals Greece
  • Russia* (culture and food)
  • (history w5 food) Germany

 

Try these databases for your research assignment:

Need Research Help? Ask a Librarian!

ask a librarian, contact us; phone, email, text

Library Orientation Survey

The library is always trying to improve the service we provide to students, staff, and faculty at American River College.  Please help us do this by taking this brief Library Orientation survey about the orientation you had today.  Your answers are anonymous and much appreciated. Thank you!