Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Thunder Boy Jr by
Call Number: PZ7.A382 Th 2016 (Peace and Diversity Children's Collection)
Publication Date: 2016-05-10
"Thunder Boy Jr. wants a normal name . . . one that's all his own. Dad is known as Big Thunder, but Little Thunder doesn't want to share a name." Publisher's Description
How Raven Got His Crooked Nose by
Call Number: E99.T185 A89 2018 (Children's Collection)
Publication Date: 2018-04-10
"Chulyen, a trickster raven, loses his nose in an embarrassing incident, but vows to get it back. With the help of magic powers, Chulyen devises a caper to retrieve his missing nose, and learns an important lesson along the way." Publisher's Description
The First Strawberries by
Call Number: E99.C5 B885 1998 ( Peace and Diversity Children's Collection)
Publication Date: 1998-06-01
"A quarrel between the first man and the first woman is reconciled when the Sun causes strawberries to grow out of the earth."
The Hunter's Promise by
Call Number: E99.A13 B782 2015 (Peace and Diversity Children's Collection)
Publication Date: 2015-09-07
"[An] ancient and unique Abenaki tale of keeping a promise to one's family and of the proper relationship of humans to the natural world." Amazon Description
Thirteen Moons on Turtle's Back by
Call Number: PS3552.R794 T47 1992 (Peace and Diversity Children's Collection)
Publication Date: 1992-03-25
"Celebrates the seasons of the year through poems from the legends of such Native American tribes as the Cherokee, Cree, and Sioux."
Good Luck Cat by
Call Number: PZ7.H2229 Go 2000 (Children's Collection)
Publication Date: 2000-04-01
"Because her good luck cat Woogie has already used up eight of his nine lives in narrow escapes from disaster, a Native American girl worries when he disappears."
The People Shall Continue by
Call Number: E77.4 .O77 2017 (Peace and Diversity Children's Collection)
Publication Date: 2017-10-09
"Told in the rhythms of traditional oral narrative, this powerful telling of the history of the Native/Indigenous peoples of North America recounts their story from Creation to the invasion and usurpation of Native lands." Amazon Description
Little Whale by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016-08-15
"Long ago in southeastern Alaska, Keet, a ten-year-old Tlingit Indian boy, stows away for a voyage on his father's canoe and soon finds himself caught in the middle of a wild seastorm that carries him far from his home village and, after making land, right in the middle of a dangerous dispute between two Indian clans."
Crossing Bok Chitto by
Call Number: PZ7.T489 Cro 2006 (Children's Collection)
Publication Date: 2006-04-01
"In the 1800s, a Choctaw girl becomes friends with a slave boy from a plantation across the great river, and when she learns that his family is in trouble, she helps them cross to freedom."
Fall in Line, Holden by
Call Number: PZ8.3.V3343 Fal 2017 (Children's Collection)
Publication Date: 2017-07-01
"At a very strict school in Indigenous Nation, everyone but Holden stays in line until they reach the door at the end of the school day."
Young Adult Books
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by
Call Number: PZ7.A382 Ab 2007 (Easy Reading)
Publication Date: 2007-09-12
"Budding cartoonist Junior leaves his troubled school on the Spokane Indian Reservation to attend an all-white farm town school where the only other Indian is the school mascot."
Call Number: PS3551.L35774 F57 2007
Publication Date: 2007-04-17
"Flight follows a troubled foster teenager--a boy who is not a "legal" Indian because he was never claimed by his father. The journey begins as he's about to commit a massive act of violence."
The Marrow Thieves by
Call Number: PR9199.4.D56 M37 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-01
"In a future world ravaged by global warming, people have lost the ability to dream, and the dreamlessness has led to widespread madness. The only people still able to dream are North America's indigenous population - and it is their marrow that holds the cure for the rest of the world. But getting the marrow - and dreams - means death for the unwilling donors." Publisher's Description
Night Is Gone, Day Is Still Coming by
Call Number: PS508.I5 N54 2003
Publication Date: 2003-07-14
"A collection of poetry and prose by fifty-eight young American Indian writers, ages eleven to twenty-two."
Impressions of an Indian Childhood by
Call Number: E77 .Z58 2008 (Easy Reading)
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
"Gertrude Simmons Bonnin (1876-1938), better known by her pen name, Zitkala-Sa, was a Native American writer, editor, musician, teacher and political activist. She was born and raised on the Yankton Sioux Reservation in South Dakota by her mother. Zitkala-Sa lived a traditional lifestyle until the age of eight when she left her reservation to attend Whites Manual Labor Institute, a Quaker mission school in Indiana." Cover Description