Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARC Logo

Library Research Guides

Academic Research and Writing: Articles

Off-Campus Access

To log in from off-campus, you will need your eServices username (w+student ID) and password. 

About Articles

The type of article you will want to use will depend on the nature of your research. Articles can be found in academic journals, trade publications, newspapers, magazines, and more. The library subscribes to dozens of article databases, both general and subject-based, which students can access for free using their LRCCD login. If you are looking for resources in a specific field, going to a subject database may produce more relevant results. If the full-text of an article that you need is not available, you can request it for free through interlibrary loan

Scholarly Articles

Scholarly (a.k.a. peer-reviewed or academic) articles are found in journals, which publish issues containing new articles at regular periods (this is why they are also referred to as "periodicals"). Journals are organized online in databases.

This video from the Quinebaug Valley Community College Library goes over the "Anatomy of a Scholarly Article" tool from North Carolina State University Libraries.

How to Spot Fake News

Fake news is not new and has long been a major concern for anyone looking for accurate information. Therefore, when conducting research, it is essential to know how to evaluate a source for credibility. This video from FactCheck.org provides a quick overview of the key indicators of misinformation in news stories. 

General Databases for Scholarly Articles

The following databases offer resources on a broad range of subjects. You can find subject-specific databases on the complete list of databases

Newspaper Articles

While many news sources can be accessed for free online, there are a variety of sources that require a subscription. The Library provides access to thousands of news sources through the following databases (they can also be searched for using OneSearch, but you will be able to search more precisely using a database).