Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To log in from off-campus, you will need your eServices username (w+student ID) and password.
Anthropology Books and eBooks
Use OneSearch to find books and reference resources in the ARC Library, online, and at other Los Rios Libraries. Online resources can be accessed using your eServices login (w# + password). You can request books from other Los Rios Libraries to be sent to you at the ARC library by submitting an interlibrary loan request.
Anthropology Book Recommendations
Books provide in-depth information about a topic. A book may be by an individual author or a collection of essays/articles by multiple authors. Do not feel like you need to read an entire book unless it is required for your class. Physical items may be checked out at the user services desk at the front of the library. Online resources can be accessed with your student services login (W# + password).
Ebooks on social sciences, information technology, the humanities, business, economics, and more.
Development Anthropology by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2018-02-06
Illustrates how anthropology is used in international development work, and focuses on how anthropology can provide the understanding of context essential to effective project design and implementation.
Origins: How Earth's History Shaped Human History by
Call Number: GN281.4 .D37 2019b (2nd Floor - Circulating)
Publication Date: 2019-05-14
From the cultivation of the first crops to the founding of modern states, Origins reveals the breathtaking impact of the earth beneath our feet on the shape of our human civilizations
What Is Anthropology? by
Call Number: GN29 .E75 2017 (2nd Floor - Circulating) & ebook
Publication Date: 2017-05-20
This book shows in persuasive ways why anthropology is a fundamental intellectual discipline, perhaps more so in the twenty-first century than ever before.
Anthropology Reference Resources
Reference books, which include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and other collections of data, are a great source for general information about a topic. Physical items in the Reference Collection are located behind the Research Help Desk on the first floor of the library. They can only be used in the library and may not be checked out. Online resources can be accessed from any computer using your student services login (W# + password).
Background information from general and subject encyclopedias.
Archaeology of Ancient Mexico and Central America
Call Number: F1218.6 .A73 2001 (1st Floor - Reference)
Publication Date: 2000-11-27
Covering pre-Columbian archaeology of Mesoamerica, it features in-depth articles on the major cultural areas of ancient Mexico and Central America, coverage of important sites, articles on day-to-day life of ancient peoples in these regions, and several regional and site maps and photographs.
Countries, Peoples and Cultures (Complete Nine Volume Set)
Call Number: GN307 .C69 2015 (1st Floor - Reference) & ebook
Publication Date: 2015-12-23
The Countries, Peoples & Cultures series contains information on over 200 countries and self-governing territories, as well as separate appendices profiling 21 types of governments currently in power and 10 major world religions.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2005-12-08
Unique collection of over 1000 entries that focuses on topics in physical/biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology.