Articles - ENGWR 300 - Professor Chambers (Spring 2014) - ARC Research Guides at American River College

Suggested Databases

Use the library's Research Databases to find articles in newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals.

OneSearch
Includes articles and books available through all of the Library's Research Databases and Library Catalog from a single search, but you should also search the Catalog for books, as it does not contain all items.
Academic Search Complete
This is a general database covering all topics. It contains both magazines and journals.
America: History and LIfe with Full Text
Provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books
JSTOR
Includes core research and society published journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
Biography in Context
contains information on 600,000+ of the world's most influential people drawn from reference books (including Lives & Perspectives), periodicals, and multimedia sources. Search or browse people. For example: Browse John Foster Dulles

Magazines

contain current events and general interest articles
publish brief articles written for the general public
are written by journalists
generally do not contain any references or notes--the reader does not know where the author got the information to write the article
articles are reviewed by magazine employees before they are published

Journals

contain news and research topics from a specific field of interest
publish long, in-depth articles written for experts and scholars in the field
are written by subject experts in the field
include references or footnotes--reader knows where the author obtained the information to write the article
articles are reviewed by peers (other subject experts) before they are published

This is an EBSCO database. Both OneSearch and the History Database, America: History and LIfe with Full Text. Use the same search techniques. One Search is the best option for your assignment.