ARC Research Guides: Interpreter Preparation Program: Websites

Searching the Web

While the library has access to many high-quality scholarly resources, it does not provide access to all information that might be useful for your assignment. Sometimes what you need is only available on the open Internet. With seemingly infinite websites, it is necessary to use a search engine, such as Google, to locate what you are looking for. You are probably familiar with the Google search box, but there are tricks you can employ to conduct a more effective web search.

Handouts:

Internet Search Basics
A quick-guide with tips for searching the Internet and evaluating results.
Advanced Google Search Tips
Go beyond your basic keyword search with these advanced tips and tricks.

Web Resources:

Evaluating (Mis)information
From Los Rios Libraries.
Quickly Evaluate a Website
From Washtenaw Community College.

General

DCARA
Their mission is to "promote and advocate for the rights of full access to American Sign Language and English, education, employment, and cultural identity of, by, for, and with Deaf, Hard of Hearing, Late-Deafened, and DeafBlind people."
Deaf Education
In partnership with Hands & Voices, Deaf Education provides information on jobs, topical conversations, collaborative opportunities, and knowledge regarding deaf education.
Hands and Voices
Focuses on supporting parents of deaf or hard of hearing children with resources, chapter associations, and other forms of support.
Hearing Loss in Children
A collection of information maintained by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention on hearing loss in children.
National Center for Hearing Assessment and Management (NCHAM)
"NCHAM serves as the National Technical Resource Center for the implementation and improvement of comprehensive and effective Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) systems."
NorCal Services for Deaf & Hard of Hearing
"NorCal Services for Deaf and Hard of Hearing is a non-profit, community-based organization serving deaf and hard of hearing individuals, their families and the general public in 24 northeastern counties of California."

Research

Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing (AG Bell)
International nonprofit membership organization, support network, and resource center on pediatric hearing loss and spoken language approaches and related issues.
American Hearing Research Foundation (AHRF)
"AHRF funds novel research to better understand and overcome hearing and balance disorders of the inner ear."
Laurent Clerc National Deaf Education Center
Federally funded program, K-8, and High School for evidence-based practices on teaching deaf and hard of hearing individuals from birth-21. Provides resources, research, and training on all topics related to deafness.
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)
The National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD), part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), conducts and supports research in the normal and disordered processes of hearing, balance, taste, smell, voice, speech, and language.

Web Search Strategies

Did you know that the Google Search Engine has advanced search options? Check out the following video from Common Sense Education for search tips on making the most out of your Google search.

Associations

AARP Hearing Center
The American Association of Retired Persons provides information on hearing loss and deafness in older age.
American Association of the DeafBlind
"Prepares guidelines toward healthcare agencies, institutions and DeafBlind citizens in the United States."
The American Deafness and Rehabilitation Association (ADARA)
"National organization that brings together professionals...to share best practices in working with individuals who are Deaf and Hard of Hearing, to address policy and program concerns, and to network."
American Sign-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)
The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) is the national professional, scientific, and credentialing association for 211,000 members and affiliates who are audiologists; speech-language pathologists; speech, language, and hearing scientists; audiology and speech-language pathology support personnel; and students.
American Society for Deaf Children (ASDC)
ASDC provides information for people who must make decisions about deaf children: parents, families, providers, educators, legislators, and advocates.
Association of Late-Deafened Adults (ALDA)
ALDA's mission is to "is to support the empowerment of late-Deafened Adults, people who have lost the ability to understand speech with or without hearing aids after acquiring spoken language."
California Association for the Deaf (CAD)
The California Association of the Deaf's mission is to "preserve, protect, and promote linguistic, human, and civil rights for a ll Deaf Californians."
National Association of the Deaf (NAD)
The National Association of the Deaf (NAD) is the nation’s premier civil rights organization of, by and for deaf and hard of hearing individuals in the United States of America.

American Sign Language Learning

ASL University
Resources for learning ASL.
Babies and Sign Language
Information and resources for teaching various sign languages to babies .
Designed and Captioned Media Program (DCMP)
Funded by the Department of Education, they provide over 8,000 accessible videos "carefully customized to serve the needs of K-12 students, as well as adult students studying to meet the needs of blind and deaf students."
HandSpeak.com
Provides a searchable dictionary and grammar of ASL with tutorials and videos.
StartASL.com
Provides free and subscription services for learning ASL.

Library Research Guides