Skip to main content
ARC Logo

Library Research Guides

Gerontology: Articles

An overview of gerontology resources available through the library.

Off-Campus Access

To login from off-campus, you will need your eServices username (w+student ID) and password. 

Suggested Search Terms

Suggestions:

  • aged
  • aging
  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • dementia
  • elder abuse
  • elder care
  • elderly
  • euthanasia
  • geriatrics
  • gerontology
  • older
  • senior

TIP: Most databases allow you to search multiple terms at the same time by separating them with an "or." This is especially helpful for searching synonyms. For example, try searching "aging or aged or elderly or older."

Basic Search Tips

QUOTATION MARKS

  • Put exact phrases in quotation marks
    • “to be or not to be”
    • “cultural anthropology”

KEYWORDS

  • Brainstorm alternative terms
    • Humans: people, “homo sapiens”
    • Children: juveniles, youth, minors

BOOLEAN OPERATORS

  • Use operators to link ideas and narrow/broaden your search
    • “climate change” AND politics
    • “climate change” OR “global warming”
    • “united states” NOT europe

Databases

There are many types of articles, including scholarly (a.k.a. peer reviewed or academic), newspaper, magazine, and review. Gerontology articles can be found in the online databases listed below. You can access all of them at no cost to you—some the library subscribes to and others are open access. 

TIP: Multiple EBSCO databases can be searched simultaneously. To do this, open any EBSCO database (indicated in parentheses after the name of the database) and select "choose databases" from above the search bar. Then add as many as you want. 

Journals

Scholarly (a.k.a. peer-reviewed or academic) articles are usually published in journals, a type of periodical (meaning it's published on a regular basis). The journals listed below can be found in the databases to the left, but you may want to search for articles in a specific journal.