Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARC Logo

Library Research Guides

Recommended Reading: Novels since 1900: National Book Awards

National Book Awards

Winner MedallionEstablished in 1950, the National Books Awards are organized by the National Book Foundation, whose mission is to "celebrate the best literature in America, expand its audience, and ensure that books have a prominent place in American culture." Their current award categories are best Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, Translated Literature, and Young People's Literature. Selected award-winning novels are listed below. 

Winners 1952-1979

Winners 1980-1999

Winners 2000-2018