Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARC Logo

Library Research Guides

Recommended Reading: Novels since 1900: PEN/Faulker Awards

PEN/Faulkner Award

Award logoThe PEN/Faulkner Foundation "celebrates literature and fosters connections between readers and writers to enrich and inspire both individuals and communities." Works that are eligible for the award must be written by "American permanent residents in a calendar year." Every year, the directors of the Foundation select three judges who select five books as finalists. Those books are then voted on by a jury of peers to determine the winner. 

Winners 1981-1992

Winners 1993-2004

Winners 2005-2019