Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARC Logo

Library Research Guides

Recommended Reading: Novels since 1900: Booker Prize for Fiction

Booker Prize for Fiction

icon for the Booker PrizesThe Booker Prize is awarded to "the best novel of the year written in English and published in the UK or Ireland." It was first awarded as the Booker Prize for Fiction in 1969 through funding provided by Booker Brothers, McConnell & Co., Ltd. In 2002, the Booker Prize Foundation was established when funding was taken over by the Man Group, PLC; at that time the award was renamed the "Man Booker Prize." In 2019, the Crankstart Foundation took over funding of the award it was renamed the Booker Prize. 

Winners 1969-1988

Winners 1989-2006

Winners 2007-2020